My Blog List

People I Know

Eclectic Folks

Media Blogs

Politics, Policy Blogs

Page Rank

Check Page Rank of your Web site pages instantly:

This page rank checking tool is powered by Page Rank Checker service

Saturday, December 12, 2009

Baseball Hall of Fame Ballot QUESTION

Here's the 2010 Hall of Fame ballot, with their 2009 votes noted; those with no 2009 votes are eligible for the first time.

Roberto Alomar
Kevin Appier
Harold Baines 32 (6%)
Bert Blyleven 338 (63%)
Ellis Burks
Andre Dawson 361 (67%)
Andres Galarraga
Pat Hentgen
Mike Jackson
Eric Karros
Ray Lankford
Barry Larkin
Edgar Martinez
Don Mattingly 64 (12%)
Fred McGriff
Mark McGwire 118 (22%)
Jack Morris 237 (44%)
Dale Murphy 62 (12%)
Dave Parker 81 (15%)
Tim Raines 122 (23%)
Shane Reynolds
David Segui
Lee Smith 240 (45%)
Alan Trammell 94 (17%)
Robin Ventura
Todd Zeile

1. Who do YOU vote for, and why?
2. Who will get selected, if any? 75% required for enshrinement.
3. Who will get the lowest votes and not be eligible next year? "Candidates may remain under consideration for up to 15 years provided they are named on at least five percent of the ballots cast."

1. Dawson and Blyleven should have gotten in years ago. Alomar and Larkin are strong middle infielders. I vote for Raines because he played well on a mediocre team (Expos). And though I wouldn't have voted for McGwire in his first year of eligibility, I would now. And why doesn't Lee Smith, who is or at least was the career saves leader for a time, back when saves weren't always 3 outs, get more love?

2. From most likely to least: Roberto Alomar, Barry Larkin, Andre Dawson, Bert Blyleven. McGwire doesn't get in unless/until he shows some contrition over the steroids thing.

3. From most likely to reach the 5% threshold to the least:
Ellis Burks, Eric Karros, Todd Zeile, Ray Lankford. Kevin Appier, Pat Hentgen, David Segui, Shane Reynolds, Mike Jackson



Scott said...

I agree with all of your assessments. I think Blyleven will get passed over again this year though. I believe Dawson will make it, but Bert will be eclipsed by both Larkin and Alomar.

I certainly hope that Alan Trammell stays on the ballot. I don't think he will ever get in, but he was my favorite ballplayer while growing up. By staying on the ballot it shows him some respect.

Charley said...

I believe BBWAA writers will award two long-time balloters, Dawson and Blyleven. I believe Raines and L. Smith should also get in as well as Alomar, Larkin, and McGriff.

Andre Dawson for the Hall of Fame